I Was Hit by an Uninsured Driver. Now What?

Connecticut Injury Attorney Serving Bridgeport, New Haven, Stamford & Waterbury, CT

SHARE :
Posted: January 17, 2019
Man After Crash With Uninsured Driver

Driving without insurance is illegal, but it happens more often than you’d like to believe. Nearly 10 percent of Connecticut drivers get behind the wheel without insurance, which can be risky for other drivers on the road. If you’ve been hit by an uninsured driver, or a driver whose policy isn’t enough to cover your damages, Attorney Jim Miron may be able to help.

Liability Insurance in Connecticut

Liability insurance protects you if you’re hit by another driver. It will cover any bodily injuries you sustain, as well as any damage to your car or other property. Liability insurance is required in most states, including Connecticut. As of 2018, our state minimums are:

  • $25,000 per person
  • $50,000 per collision for bodily injury
  • $25,000 per collision for property damage

While these numbers may seem large, they can be minimal if you’re suffering from long-term injuries or disabilities, lost income or a diminished quality of life after a car crash. If the other driver only has the minimum liability coverage required by the state, it may not be enough to compensate your losses.

What’s worse, the other driver may be driving without liability insurance. Though they will likely face legal consequences for doing so, their punishment won’t solve your problems. You need the help of an experienced attorney like Jim Miron to receive the compensation you deserve.

Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Insurance in Connecticut

If another driver’s liability coverage or lack of coverage isn’t able to cover your losses, uninsured motorist insurance may be able to help. In Connecticut, all drivers are required to carry uninsured motorist insurance. As of 2018, our state minimums are:

  • An equal amount to your bodily injury liability coverage, including
    • $25,000 per person
    • $50,000 per collision for bodily injury

You have the option of increasing these minimums, as well as the option to purchase additional underinsured motorist insurance. Underinsured motorist coverage cannot be reduced by payments from another source, including the other driver’s insurance.

Uninsured and Underinsured Motorists Claims

If you were hit by an uninsured or underinsured driver, your first instinct is probably to contact your insurance company. However, insurance companies, even your own, rarely have your best interests at heart. Seeking compensation under your uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage can put you in situations like these:

  • Your insurance company may claim that the car crash falls outside the scope of your policy
  • Your insurance company may claim you haven’t presented the proper documentation needed to receive compensation
  • Your insurance company may ask you to sign forms and waivers that diminish your rights to compensation
  • Your insurance company may not be willing to pay the amount you feel you deserve
  • Your insurance company may try to deny compensation for long-term disabilities and lost income after initial payments have been made

Many Connecticut drivers are unaware of their uninsured motorist coverage, which can give your insurance company additional advantages when you call to make a claim. If at all possible, know your current coverage before a car crash. You should also consider increasing your uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage to help ensure you’ll be covered in the event of a collision.

Speak With a Car Crash Lawyer in Bridgeport

If you or a loved one were involved in a crash with an uninsured or underinsured motorist, call Attorney Jim Miron at 203-339-5991 before talking to your insurance company. Jim has 25 years of experience and offers free consultations for clients from across Connecticut, including Bridgeport, New Haven, Stamford and Waterbury.

Category :